types of taxes

The Swiss VAT system

The Swiss VAT system follows the European VAT Directive. Nevertheless, there are some important differences that need to be addressed, especially when it comes to foreign suppliers of goods and services

Types of Taxes in Switzerland

The taxes in Switzerland can be divided into three major categories: federal taxes, cantonal taxes and municipal taxes. In order to avoid overlapping taxation, Switzerland has concluded double taxation agreements with most industrialized countries, to protect foreign investors from double taxation.